8 good reasons I won’t be watching Glenn Beck’s America’s Divine Destiny event on TV tonight

  1. Interfaith events almost always feature lukewarm and dumbed-down faith. This is true whether it’s a progressive event put together by Unitarians and barely religious theists or a conservative event put together by a god-and-country Mormon such as Glenn Beck.
  2. Interfaith is fine and good for patriotic events and to gain momentum on common causes, but Beck bills this as a time to help “heal your soul,” and I can promise you that the red-meat rhetoric that highlights most Beck events won’t heal anything.
  3. Evangelicals don’t look to Mormons for spiritual solace.
  4. While I am an active conservative, I do not appreciate Glenn Beck’s caustic and smirking approach to political dialogue. One evangelical leader is participating in the event because, he says, although Beck is a Mormon, he exhibits Christian “fruit.” “The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.” (Gal.2:22,23) I’m sorry, but that’s not a list of Beck traits. He exhibits a commitment to promoting many conservative political principles, but—in my view—by employing unchristian means.
  5. Let me give you some perspective. Most evenings during the 5 o’clock hour I’m on a treadmill at the local fitness club with a TV screen in front of me. Last night, rather than watch Glenn Beck I was watching the Little League World Series. The LLWS, really? That’s pathetic, I know, but it should tell you all you need to know about my appetite for Glenn Beck programming.
  6. I am a Republican and I think both Beck and this event are potentially harmful to improving Republican fortunes.
  7. I have a date with my wife.
  8. The Braves are in a pennant race and they’re on TV tonight (although that is trumped by #7 above).

I could come up with several more reasons, but thinking about Glenn Beck makes my head hurt.

About Jim Jewell

I am a writer and consultant on faith and public life, active for many years in management and communications in the evangelical community. I now work as the director of the nonprofit practice at The Valcort Group (www.valcort.com). Everything on this blog, however, is my personal opinion and is not read or approved before it is posted. Opinions, conclusions and other information expressed here do not necessarily reflect the views of Valcort.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Evangelicals, Jim Jewell, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 good reasons I won’t be watching Glenn Beck’s America’s Divine Destiny event on TV tonight

  1. Karen says:

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

