When the (Computer) Doctor is Really the Devil

The doctor made a house call yesterday at about noon, at first issuing dire warnings of declining health and offering remarkable new remedies that would cure my ills. Before long it became clear that this doctor did not have my best interest in mind; indeed, he was soon threatening my vitality and well-being. The doctor, it became clear, was the devil incarnate.

We’re talking computers here, and the doctor that visited my new-ish laptop yesterday was the Anti-malware Doctor, which within a short amount of time almost completely disabled my computer, offering to fix everything if I’d just purchase an anti-virus product.

Like most people, I have become extraordinarily dependent on my computer for my business and many parts of my life. My work-day ground to a halt as a sought a solution. It took me until just after midnight to finally solved the problem and sent the “doctor” packing.

I am not a computer expert by any means, but let me share what I learned—in case you face this devious badware or malware, posing as anti-malware. You’ll probably need to use another computer (at least I had to), to get instructions and to download software onto a flashdrive, because the devilish malware will make it impossible to download anything, and in fact will keep disabling your Internet connection.

Don’t rely on me; search for real professional help. I went to this site, which was very helpful and will explain how this malware works. However, they recommend Spyware Doctor as a solution, and although this seems to be a legitimate fix, when I loaded it and it scanned my computer and found all of the virus bombs that the anti-malware doctor had left, Spyware Doctor required that I purchase its software—about $50—to eliminate the viruses. I didn’t want to spend that kind of money to solve a problem I felt certain could be fixed at no cost (except most of my day).

Here’s what I did:

  1. I found free software that found the viruses and destroyed them and got rid of Antimalware Doctor. Here’s the site you’ll want to use: Bleeping Computer.  Follow the several steps, which will include downloading Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware, which is free, including the most important step of eliminating the viruses.
  2. I had to go to this site on a different computer and download each of the recommended downloads onto a flashdrive, and load them on my infected computer from the flashdrive.
  3. I had to restart my infected computer in the Safe Mode. Otherwise, every move I made, and certainly every remedy I introduced, was immediately disabled.
  4. The devilish doctor will also disable your Internet connection. You can fix this easily: Click on Tools, Internet Options and click on Connections tab. Click on LAN Settings and uncheck the box labeled Use a Proxy Server for Your LAN. That will work (I had to do this one more time after the viruses were removed).

You’ll then want to check into a different anti-virus program (since the one you have allowed the malware to infect your computer). I’ve loaded a free version of AVG for now.

I’m starting a new day without the viruses, and without the doctor who was in reality the devil. This is certainly one doctor you do not want to make a house call!

About Jim Jewell

I am a writer and consultant on faith and public life, active for many years in management and communications in the evangelical community. I now work as the director of the nonprofit practice at The Valcort Group (www.valcort.com). Everything on this blog, however, is my personal opinion and is not read or approved before it is posted. Opinions, conclusions and other information expressed here do not necessarily reflect the views of Valcort.
This entry was posted in Computers, Jim Jewell and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

