The Tallest Building in America

Willis Tower from the corner of Franklin and Adams

I’m living most weekdays in a corporate apartment in downtown Chicago right now, until my family joins me in a few weeks from Atlanta and we find a nice suburban spot for our little tikes.  I love the dramatic, soaring, interesting architecture of Chicago, which with New York City has dominated the world of American skyscrapers. Of the top twenty-five tallest buildings in the U.S., eight are in Chicago and seven are in New York.

Today, on my walk to Union Station (to catch a train out to suburban points to look for the forementioned spot for my family) I walked by the tallest building in America, known to most non-Chicagoans as the Sears Tower, now called Willis Tower. 

For most of building history, the tallest structure in the world have been in the U.S.; not so since 1998–but Willis Tower is the fifth tallest building in the world.

Having walked by it today, let me confirm that it is indeed very tall.

About Jim Jewell

I am a writer and consultant on faith and public life, active for many years in management and communications in the evangelical community. I now work as the director of the nonprofit practice at The Valcort Group (www.valcort.com). Everything on this blog, however, is my personal opinion and is not read or approved before it is posted. Opinions, conclusions and other information expressed here do not necessarily reflect the views of Valcort.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Jim Jewell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

