Take updated presidential poll; tell us what you think of Bachmann and others

Right after the 2010 mid-term election blow-out by the the Republicans, I started the presidential primary poll to the right, to begin to get a sense of how the early horserace was shaping up.  Lots has changed since then and today I’m updating the roster to reflect the new current contestants, together with one–Rick Perry–who appears poised to jump in.  Sarah Palin has been on the list since the beginning, although she remains a mystery, and an enigma, and I think, a distraction. 

I’ve taken off those who have dropped out–Haley Barbour, Mitch Daniels, John Thune, and Mike Huckabee; as well as Donald Trump, who I added for his brief run. 

Mitt Romney has had an edge in this “prestigious” poll since the beginning, although Palin edged ahead a few times some months ago.

I have always liked Mitt Romney, but I don’t think he will be the nominee.  His Massachusetts health care history may sabatogue his run with Tea Party types; and I still am not convinced that a Mormon will win in the southern primaries. 

I also like Tim Pawlenty, but in the age of celebrity politics, I really doubt he has the charisma (or the fire) to come out on top.

For me, the most interesting candidate is Michele Bachmann.  She fares extremely well in the comparison to Palin.  Bachmann is far more experienced, far brighter, faster on her feet and able to respond well to hard questions.  She has a good record in the Congress and impressive private life credentials.  She is a strong Christian with admirable real life bona fides.  She remains at some disadvantage because Members of Congress rarely become president.  But then, a senator had not been elected president since JFK–until the junior senator from Illinois came along. 

So please vote in the updated poll, and let me know how you view the new roster of candidates.

About Jim Jewell

I am a writer and consultant on faith and public life, active for many years in management and communications in the evangelical community. I now work as the director of the nonprofit practice at The Valcort Group (www.valcort.com). Everything on this blog, however, is my personal opinion and is not read or approved before it is posted. Opinions, conclusions and other information expressed here do not necessarily reflect the views of Valcort.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Jim Jewell, Politics, Presidential campaigns, Republican, Tea Party and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

