Tag Archives: conservative Christians

Weighing Newt’s great presidential adventure

So Newt Gingrich has announced that he will be a candidate for president of the United States in 2012. In my view that is very good news for a Republican field that is anemic–candidates that have no hope, have no … Continue reading

Posted in Christianity, Jim Jewell, Politics, Presidential campaigns, Republican, Virtue | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Al Mohler undresses Rob Bell and the theological liberalism of his new book “Love Wins”

In a strong article, Mohler dissects Rob Bell’s noxious attempt to rescue Christianity from the Bible. He writes: Bell’s argument is centered in his affirmation of God’s loving character, but he alienates love from justice and holiness. This is the traditional … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Christianity, Evangelicals, Jim Jewell | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Former Falwell aide reflects on a controversial and productive life

Last week I had a cup of coffee and a good visit with Nelson Keener,  my friend and former colleague on the Prison Fellowship senior mangement team in the 1980s.  We’re many years from our work together, but we share … Continue reading

Posted in Christianity, Evangelicals, Jim Jewell, Leaders | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Evangelical resurgence key part of 2010 midterm wildfire

Interesting, wasn’t it, that during the run-up to the midterm election we saw Tea Partiers bellowing from behind their placards rather than Jerry Falwell raging from the pulpit. We heard Sarah Palin’s warnings rather than D. James Kennedy’s jeremiads, or … Continue reading

Posted in Abortion, Christianity, Church and State, Environment, Evangelicals, Immigration, Jim Jewell, Politics, Pro-life, Republican, Tea Party | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Politics 2010: Conservative Women and (Not So) Angry White Males

I think the world of strong, intelligent and attractive conservative women. I’m married to one. There was a time when the only women rising to the top of national politics were liberal Democrats (Pat Schroeder, Geraldine Ferraro, Hillary Clinton, Barbara … Continue reading

Posted in Jim Jewell, Politics, Pro-life, Republican, Tea Party | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Are Conservatives Selfish People?

A Facebook friend of mine, who is a proud member of the East coast liberal elite and works at a New York publishing house, made this comment as he commiserated with his progressive friends: “We [progressives] like institutions that help … Continue reading

Posted in Christianity, Church life, Compassion Ministries, International aid, Jim Jewell, Philosophy, Politics | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

The Trinumeral Day

Today, Oct. 10, 2010 brings about the unique-to-this-century calendar trinumeral alignment of 10/10/10. There’s been a rush to get married on this date, and various events have been planned to take advantage of the easy-to-remember date. Among the most prominent are the … Continue reading

Posted in Climate Change, Jim Jewell | Tagged | Leave a comment

Weekend Blogpost: Pro-life Cover of TIME, Is Debt “W’s” Fault, Christians Wielding the Political Sword, and more

 1.   The First Nine Months of Your Life:  Mere Comments points to the cover and cover story in the Oct. 4 Time magazine, that could suggest that the editors are acknowledge what many of us see as self evident: life … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Christianity, Church and State, Creation Care, Environment, Green Tips, Jim Jewell, Politics, Pro-life | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

CT Review of A Climate for Change: Global Warming Facts for Faith-Based Decisions

Nice review by Christianity Today of the terrfic book  A Climate for Change by my friends Katherine Hayhoe and Andrew Farley.  Mark Galli writes: I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of both the alarmist cries and defensive denials about … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Christianity, Climate Change, Environment, Jim Jewell | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Measures of conservatism in the tradition of Edmund Burke and Russell Kirk

“He is a conservative,” we hear of a candidate, public figure, spokesman, or writer. It either flows as a validation from the mouth of the like-minded, or sneered from the curled lips of a philosophical foe. We hear it a … Continue reading

Posted in Christianity, Jim Jewell, Philosophy, Politics, Tea Party | Tagged , | Leave a comment